What to expect…

When Jacob was born we booked a photographer and waited for the day of the shoot.  The day came, we turned up at the agreed time and thankfully, the photographer was expecting us…but I remember feeling extremely nervous…

were we dressed correctly? what if Jacob decided to have a meltdown because he was hungry? would we be given a specific amount of time after which we’d be asked to leave regardless of whether we had any great pictures?

I believe that if you are well prepared for your session you will enjoy it more and get better photographs as a result.

So, how do we get from your initial contact to a beautiful portrait hanging on your wall?

colour-family-portraits-for-web-59-of-63696a0390-editWell, we begin by choosing a great location for your shoot.  There may be a local beauty spot that you love, somewhere that you have fond memories of as a child or even your own back garden…Family Portraits web-14.jpg

 

I believe that it is important that we choose a place that has significance to you as I want you to love your portraits and for them to hold special memories for you.

Bradgate Park Family Portraits social (27 of 32).jpg

I will then advise you on what to wear and what to expect during your portrait experience.  We will discuss what is important to you during your shoot; any concerns that you may have and how you to wish to display your final artwork.

You may be surprised to hear that this may affect the way I approach your session – for example, the lamb would help to tell the story of the day in an album but you would wonder why on earth I was photographing a sheep if your intention was to have a framed portrait of your family!

IMG_7831w

When you arrive for your shoot I will spend time chatting to you and relaxing you into your session – I totally understand that many people feel a little uneasy in front of a camera!

I will capture some traditional portraits, photos of you interacting as a family and some stunning child portraits.  The session itself will be fun and should create some great memories for you.  There will be plenty of time to stop for snacks and breaks.

Following your photo shoot I will select the very best images from your session; I will professionally edit these images and present them to you during a viewing session.  There are likely to be moments that passed you by and photographs that make you say things like “oh, I wondered why she was lying on the floor…” and of course, there will be photographs that make you realise just how precious your little family is and how lucky you are…

 

You will walk away with a wonderful set of images that will have your friends ooh-ing and aah-ing, being the proud owner of a beautiful family heirloom that can be handed down to your children to remind them of their wonderful childhood.

 

Ready to book? Contact me here

Still not convinced? Check out my website and follow me on facebook

 

 

 

 

One thought on “What to expect…

Leave a comment